Ityop'iya, Addis-Abeba

Currency : the birr ( 1ETB = 0.10 )

Italy attacked Ethiopia in May 1935 and occupied the capital between 1936 and 1941. The emperor Haile Selassie, who ruled the country since 1930, was assassinated in 1974 by  a military junta.  

Ethiopia is now  consisted of 14 autonomous areas and the military junta was replaced by a government following the dislocation of the USSR.

The alphabet in Ethiopia is the amharique . (Click on the image to increase it)

Back to index Africa

Back to principal index

French website of world coins