République de Madagascar- Repoblikan'i Madagasikara, Antananarivo (Tananarive)

Currency :  1 Ariary = 5 Francs Malgaches (MGA), (1 € = 2600 Ariary) 

The Malagasy Franc was gradually disappeared until 2004 on the banknotes (on August 1, 2003, of the new banknotes in Ariary entered in circulation). But the coins are always in Ariary in spite of the official currency was always the Malagasy Franc. This currency dates from the pre-colonial royal period. sources: bank Malagasy

"Folo", on the reverse in top, means 10 as a Madagascan. And into low "Tanindrazana - Fahafahana - Fandrosoana" corresponds to "Fatherland - Freedom - Progress" (note that the official motto is: Tanindrazana, Fahafahana, Fahamarinana : Fatherland, Freedom, Honesty). A farmer works the peat. 

Back to index Africa

Back to principal index

French website of world coins